Start Learning Russian in the next 30 Seconds with
a Free Lifetime Account

Or sign up using Facebook

Russian Verbs

movewoman
New in Town

Russian Verbs

Postby movewoman » September 19th, 2008 3:11 am

Im new to the russian language. I know very little about it. I studied and have a strong grip on the grammar of english, spanish, and japanese. Can somebody explain how you congugate a russian verb? They teach verbs but in different tenses and they dont congugate them. Also, What is the verb "to be"? How do I say things like "I am tall" or "I am sad" or "I am 16"

Pollyanna
Been Around a Bit

Postby Pollyanna » September 23rd, 2008 1:49 pm

Hello, movewoman!

Russian language has two types of verbs conjugation. The conjugation type defines how to change the verb in present and future simple tenses by persons and numbers. To find the conjugation type you should look at the ending of the infinitive verb (but there are some exceptions).

I conjugation verbs :
- 3 verbs: брить, стелить, зиждиться
- verbs end in - еть (there are 7 exceptions) - e.g. петь - pet' - to sing
- verbs end in - ать (there are 4 exceptions) - e.g. бежать - bezhat'- to run
- the rest of verbs which ends in -оть, -уть, -ть - e.g. тянуть - tyanut' - to pull

II conjugation verbs:
- verbs end in -ить (except 3 from type I) - e.g. жить - zhit' - to live
- 7 verbs: видеть, ненавидеть, обидеть, зависеть, терпеть, вертеть, смотреть
- 4 verbs: гнать, дышать, держать, слышать

When you have defined which conjugation has the verb, you may change the present tense verb according the table below:

_____________________|____ Conjugation I____|___ Conjugation II____|
_________Person______|__Singular_|__ Plural_ |__Singular_|__ Plural _|
--------------------------------|-------------------------------|-------------------------------|
1-st (I, we)____________|___-у(-ю)_|_-ем ______|_ -у(-ю)___|_-им______|
2-nd (you) ____________|___-ешь__|_-ете______|__-ишь____|_-ите_____|